Learning Corporate Finance – The e-education portal for the lost, confused and totally insane

August 10, 2010 at 11:02 pm 10 comments

I am not the finance type. Given a choice between marketing, selling, business development and finance, guess what my last choice would be?

Although I did take Advanced Maths in my Bachelors’ and loved it, Accounting is something else totally. It’s not that I have an ideological conflict with the subject, just that rather than spend a day with numbers, I would rather spend it with interesting people (if you follow this blog, you would notice, it is basically what I do all day).  Which is why when my friend Jawwad first asked me to review his latest pet project – an e-education portal for teaching corporate finance, I immediately asked him if I had done something to offend him.

A quick look across the courses listed across his online inventory of financial courses showed that there was nothing that was of real interest for me. (Hey at-least I am honest). For once when I said it was all Greek to me, it really was filled with Greek symbols (see for yourself Derivative Pricing, Risk Management, Financial Engineering – Equation Reference

Despite my disinterest I was able to classify the offering in three categories.

Introductory and Intermediary Finance courses – For the lost and confused types

Corporate Finance: First Course
Master Class: Calculating Value at Risk
Master Class: Credit Analysis
Master Class: Credit Process
Master Class: Derivative products
Master Class: Ratio Analysis
Master Class: Risk for the Oil and Petrochemical Industry

According to Jawwad those of you looking for a light read to put you to sleep would possibly like the Petrochemical and Ratio Analysis piece.  If you are not the finance type you should stay away from everything else (especially the Calculating Value at Risk note).

Touch them and die Finance courses – Advance courses for the more adventurous and totally insane financial geek types

Pricing Interest Rate Swaps – The valuation and MTM course
The Derivatives Crash Course for Dummies
Treasury Operations
Asset Liability Management – The ALM Crash course and survival guide
Derivative Pricing, Risk Management, Financial Engineering – Equation Reference
Interest Rate Options – Pricing Caps and Floors

You should only venture out here if you are looking for a truly traumatic experience; or punishment; or both.  I accidently opened the Interest rate options piece and it was quite obvious to me why some of my banking friends have had such traumatic childhoods.  Jawwad included.

Cases – For those who likes numbers with a story behind them

Master Case: AMD: Valuation and Projections: Case Guide
Master Case: Corporate Finance: LLC or C-Corp
Master Case: Credit Process: Baldwin Piano
Master Case: Electronic Arts: Corporate Finance
Master Case: Office Depot: Ratio Analysis
Master Case: Ratio Analysis: ODP and Staples

The less said about these the better. Numbers, numbers and even more numbers.

If despite my best efforts to dissuade you from the subject you still have any interest in Corporate Finance, click on the above links for free on the Corporate Finance E-education Portal. At your own risk and remember I didn’t put you upto it. It was free will.

(Sorry Jawwad, I am just the old school marketing and communication type. Now if you could only put together a marketing e-education portal or a social media one, I could put my heart into reviewing it J)

Total Disclosure: My father was a banker for 40 years, my younger brother was Chief Forex dealer for several banks and my youngest brother is a Chartered Accountant living and practicing in the UK.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Abshar Rashid solves a problem on InnoCentive Nominations for the P@SHA ICT Awards 2010 now open

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Finance Mentor  |  August 10, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    Thank you Jehan for the review. Much appreciated. I will start thinking about the marketing portal🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Danial Shah  |  August 10, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    hahha. thats what happening with me. Studying branding and marketing but have to study finance and accounts course too. Numbers just fly in front of me😀

    Reply
  • […] This cup of tea was served by: In the Line of Wire […]

    Reply
  • […] Learning Corporate Finance – The e-education portal for the lost … […]

    Reply
  • 5. Vic  |  August 11, 2010 at 11:24 am

    Is this a new media version of Avicena? Disclaimer: I have only previewed the actual site, which looks like Jawwad has loaded up his vast knowledge of difficult finance-related subjects onto a blog, and will use a different business model ie ad-driven revenues. This saves the enormous costs needed to run a direct revenue business, where the knowledge is only accessible after payments flow in. Perhaps other revenue streams, such as personalised tutorials and Q&A, will follow.

    Reply
    • 6. Finance Mentor  |  August 13, 2010 at 6:49 am

      Hey Vic.

      I told TechLahore that what took more than 250,000 US dollars, and about a dozen man years to build a decade ago, became possible with wordpress in about a week.

      This is sort of an old media version of Avicena since we haven’t really used flash, videos or graphics as well as I would want to. The ads are there to cover the hosting and operational cost. And the recent traffic spike has been quite interesting. We are at about 4,000 unique visitors and 8,000 page views a months and growing at about 50% every month.

      I hated it when I wanted to look up a complex finance topic and couldn’t get what I needed. Think of this as a crude approximation of wikipedia for finance.

      Reply
  • […] in July and August has been partly due to the fairly generous reviews by TechLahore, Lootmaar and Jehan Ara and partly due to the MS Bing webmaster tweaks that have now started doing a decent number of […]

    Reply
  • […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by jehan_ara, nada TIMETRAX.COM.PK. nada TIMETRAX.COM.PK said: Learning Corporate Finance: The e-education for the lost, confused & totally insane http://bit.ly/aEXx2q /via @jehan_ara #time #pakistan […]

    Reply
  • 9. Webscopia  |  August 17, 2010 at 1:34 am

    Jawwad has really out done himself with this contribution. Finance is not an easy thing to understand and with this release, I hope he can bridge the gap.

    Reply
  • 10. adrianalemus  |  August 25, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    Thank you for another essential article. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in such a complete way of writing? I have a presentation incoming week, and I am on the lookout for such information.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


