Hey world meet a true-blue Pakistani!

May 10, 2011 at 12:08 am 24 comments

More often than not we tend to forget that the world is full of all kinds of people – some good, some bad, some honest, some dishonest, some loving and compassionate, some harsh and cruel. And they live in different counties across the globe.

Pakistan is no exception – of the 180 million people in this country, the majority are hardworking, dedicated and compassionate human beings who are trying to make an honest buck and live a decent and happy existence. In the dismal conditions that have prevailed this past week, thankfully today I was once again reminded that I live amongst some really amazing people.

I arrived in Islamabad this morning at 9 and after checking into the Guest House, I decided that instead of renting a car for the day (unnecessarily wasting company funds), I would hail a yellow cab and make my way to the Evacuee Trust Complex where several meetings were being  held back-to-back. It was only when i was in distant sight of the Marriott Hotel that I was told by the security guys there that yellow cabs were not allowed beyond that point. I had no option but to get my laptop, iPad and other paraphernalia and walk the remainder of the way. The sun was scorching hot but I braved it and had almost reached the Software Technology Park (which is next to the Marriott) when I realized that I didn’t have my wallet in my pocket.

I backtracked and frantically looked for the yellow cab – saw many of them but not my chappie. Dejected I gave up and headed back for the Tech Park, phoning my office on the way and asking Mustafa to call the Guest House to find out if they had noted down the license plate number of the yellow cab when I left there earlier that morning.  I knew I had little hope of getting the wallet back but kept whispering a small prayer hoping that God would hear me.

I had Rs. 28,000 in the wallet (had to pay someone here), two credit cards (VISA and AMEX), my NIC Card, my Health Card, my Frequent Flyer Mile cards and heaven knows what else. My life was going to be hell trying to replace some of the cards. Sigh!

As I was drowning my sorrow in a glass of ice cold water, the lady from the Guest House called and told me that the cabbie had gone back to the Guest House and turned in my wallet at the reception desk. He had first gone back to where he had dropped me but by then i had given up and left and he did not know which office I was going to in the Technology Park. However, he did know where I was  staying. For me Rs. 28,000 is a lot of money; for a struggling cab driver it is a whole lot more. And yet he went out of this way to drive back to the guest house and return what didn’t rightfully belong to him. There is hope for us yet.🙂 I hope one day I will run into the cab driver again if only to thank him for renewing my faith in the goodness of people and the integrity that is in-built in many of us.

Disclaimer: this is not a picture of “my cabbie” – just a placeholder until i find the real McCoy.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Nokia announces MakeMyApp competition in Pakistan

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Farhan Masood  |  May 10, 2011 at 12:21 am

    Really touched by the story, Pakistan has still a lot of hope…. You are lucky Jehan🙂 I got my car stolen a few weeks ago and I still have my fingers crossed🙂 hope the thief is reading🙂 lol

    Reply
    • 2. Touseef Ikram  |  May 10, 2011 at 9:26 am

      oh my God. This is bad Farhan. First your netbook then car. makes me thinking it has to be some one who is close to you and have any eye on your moves.

      PS: do some sadqa.

      Reply
  • 3. Maleeha Khan  |  May 10, 2011 at 12:36 am

    wow!! MashAllah we have such honest people among us Thank GOD!! may God BLESS Him Ameen.

    Reply
  • 4. Ahsan  |  May 10, 2011 at 2:11 am

    Thats a true Pakistani.
    Made me proud.

    Reply
  • 5. Qazi  |  May 10, 2011 at 2:29 am

    Wow inspiring story, made my day (or rather night)

    Reply
  • 6. Hey world meet a true-blue Pakistani! | Tea Break  |  May 10, 2011 at 2:30 am

    […] Hey world meet a true-blue Pakistani! […]

    Reply
  • 7. Touseef Ikram  |  May 10, 2011 at 7:04 am

    There definitely is hope and if any progress Pakistan did so far is due to these brave and honest souls otherwise it would not have even stood the first few years.

    I am happy to read your story. What a wonderful start of the day.

    Reply
  • 8. Muhammad Faizan Ali  |  May 10, 2011 at 8:13 am

    Congratulations Jahan Ara! This is one example of hope we have seen, there are many others around us, Let’s discover them too and represent a true Pakistan🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Mohammad Nawaz  |  May 10, 2011 at 9:29 am

    Must say that indeed this is a sign to rejoice and be thankful for the honesty and sincerity that we have in our people. This is all that’s needed to change how we do and perceive things around us. Here’s hoping that very soon we see such honest and loyal citizens rise and take leadership positions to steer the country to the direction and the mission that this country and its people have so dearly been hoping and striving for.

    Reply
  • 10. Iftikhar Hussain  |  May 10, 2011 at 10:41 am

    I just say THANKS to Allah Mighty that we have good people around us

    Reply
  • 11. Sultan Hamdani  |  May 10, 2011 at 11:07 am

    touching, you should have told the guest house lady to pay him some reward there and then.

    Reply
  • 12. Syed Hassan Talal  |  May 10, 2011 at 11:56 am

    Thats what real Pakistani is ….. !!!

    Reply
  • 13. haroon aejaz  |  May 10, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    A true Picture of Pakistani..

    Reply
  • 14. Jabran  |  May 10, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    Hats off to the great man!!

    Reply
  • 15. alauddin  |  May 10, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    good

    Reply
  • 16. ZM Quadri  |  May 10, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    Some thing very good for listening pleasure after the shocks of Bin ladins operation.

    Reply
  • 17. Hameedullah Khan  |  May 10, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    Wow!!! Still there are good people in Pakistan.

    Reply
  • 18. Joanna V  |  May 10, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    Great to hear that you got your wallet back Jehan, and there are still some honest people in the world, specially in Pakistan! Good to read a story like this.

    Reply
  • 19. Asif Kamal  |  May 11, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Thats a really inspiring story. But I really want to tell if we look only the beautiful part of our country then Pakistan is most beautiful country in the world.
    But we shouldn’t forget about the other side of the Picture.
    Allah blessed him and give him more than his expectation. Love you Pakistan. ..🙂

    Reply
  • 20. yatagaan  |  May 11, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    I hope this story makes it to our sensational mainstream media who have lost sight of the real and positive Pakistan.

    Reply
  • 21. number plate makers  |  May 14, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    Before the 9/11 attack in America the country Pakistan is very peaceful country.

    Reply
  • 22. Daud Khan  |  May 22, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    great peopl also in our world. guys

    Reply
  • 23. Gul Khan  |  June 1, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    Thanks for sharing. It brings great joy to read such real stories.

    Reply
  • 24. Shashank  |  June 16, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    Good story…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


