Another nice chap to the rescue!

May 25, 2011 at 1:03 pm 10 comments

We have so much to grumble about – and so often. But how many times do we talk about something nice that has happened to us, something that someone did to help us and renew our faith in the people who are part of our community and our world? This is the second time this month that I have had cause to be thankful and so I thought I would blog about this experience just as I did about my encounter with the honest taxi driver.

Yesterday as I was leaving the Avari Hotel in Karachi after a very interesting seminar on diversity, I was feeling happy because we had had a good debate and I had met some nice and interesting people, discussed some new ideas and had some coffee. The good mood turned to frustration very quickly as I drove onto Fatima Jinnah Road. My car just halted and wouldn’t start again. It was as if it’s heart had stopped beating. I tried to figure out what had happened as the honks of impatient drivers filled my ears. But no luck.

Just as I was considering calling someone for help, a young man knocked on my window, introduced himself as a mechanic and asked if he could help. I must admit to being nervous about opening the car door but I had little choice. So as he got off his motorbike and got into the car, I braved myself. Would he take out a knife or a gun and ask me for my wallet and phone? Such are the times we live in that even when someone is trying to help us, we view him with suspicion. Thank God none of my fears came to pass.

He put the car in neutral, got back on his motorbike and with his foot pushed my car to the side of the road so that he could have a look under the hood to find out what was wrong. He discovered there was a fuse and a couple of the cut-outs were burnt. Fortunately for me, Azhar (that was his name) worked for Toyota and had some extra cut-outs in his tool bag. Within 5 – 10 minutes he had fixed the problem and the car had come back to life.

I asked him what I owed him. He told me the price of the cut-outs and I gave him something extra for his time and his thoughtfulness. He replied that I was like one of his sisters and he had stopped because he could not bear the thought of seeing me stranded in the middle of the road. I felt like a damsel in distress who had been saved from an unpleasant fate. I drove off smiling and feeling blessed that there were still nice people in the world and I had just met one of them.🙂 Thank you Azhar. May God bless you.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , , , .

An intense discourse regarding Gender diversity on Company Boards

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Touseef Ikram  |  May 25, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    There is hope.

    Reply
  • 2. Yaser  |  May 25, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    *likes*

    Reply
  • 3. Another nice chap to the rescue! | Tea Break  |  May 25, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    […] Another nice chap to the rescue! […]

    Reply
  • 4. Zmaray Khan  |  May 29, 2011 at 1:53 am

    MashAllah!!

    Reply
  • 5. babushka99  |  May 29, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    I tell you – this world is filled with good people.

    Reply
  • 6. Qazi  |  June 1, 2011 at 10:25 am

    🙂 Thanks you once again for delivering hope.
    love these posts better than the IT ones

    Reply
  • 7. Gul Khan  |  June 1, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    Brings tears to my eyes. Yes. This world is filled with good people.

    Reply
  • 8. Umar  |  June 4, 2011 at 1:06 am

    And then women cry that men are bad!

    Reply
  • 9. SALMAN AFRIDI  |  June 17, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    You never how many good fellows are on the street doing what they supposed to do without mentioning it to anyone else or expecting any return out of it. Always one’d find someone there to help out others. This nation of 190 Million strong needs a LEADER and it’d make wonders!!!

    Reply
  • 10. Kristen B.  |  October 30, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    This is a nice story. I am glad that there are people, who are really a good Samaritan. I wish there are more people like him, who are kind and helpful.

    interior designing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


