A tribute to Ahmed Allaudin

June 27, 2011 at 12:26 am 12 comments

When Ashraf Kapadia phoned me in Lahore on Friday to tell me that our dear friend Ahmed Allaudin had passed away, I was in a state of shock. I was just not ready to accept it. I know death is inevitable but somehow whenever someone who is part of your life, leaves this world, it is a hard thing to come to terms with.

Ahmed was a stalwart of our industry. He graduated with a BE in Engineering from the University of Engineering and Technology in 1970 and got his MBA from the Institute of Business Administration Karachi. He started his career with United Bank Limited in 1973 and spent over 27 years working in IT in banking. He founded Millennium Software Private Limited in 1997 and had since been a part of the P@SHA community. Ahmed was a former President of the Computer Society of Pakistan and had been a Charter Member of the TiE Karachi Chapter since its inception, having been on the Governing Council at the time of his death. He was actively involved in the formulation of the first IT Policy in 2000.

Ahmed was always very much a gentleman – very soft spoken, gentle and kind, a friend and mentor to many. In meetings we have been a part of over the years, his quiet smile was a norm even when some of us totally lost it and argued passionately about something. It is not that he didn’t express his views but he always did it quietly and softly without getting overly excited about it. He was often the anchor during some of the more difficult decisions that we made.

I always called him Allaudin Sahab because I felt he was a formal person. It was only in 2004 when I led a delegation to the Nasscom Leadership Conference that I found out that Ahmed had another side to him. He could be naughty, jovial and full of fun – not quite the distant banker. In the coach that took the delegation around, he cracked jokes and pulled people’s leg and was very much a part of the group. That was when I started to call him Ahmed. In fact I told him during the trip that I had always been in awe of him. He smiled and I could tell that he was amused.

It is rare in this day and age to know someone who everyone likes and who no-one has anything bad to say about Ahmed Allaudin was such a person. I don’t think I have ever heard anyone say anything nasty about him. That was the quality of the man. He was always helpful, always supportive and a great team player.

Ahmed, this world has lost a good soul. May you Rest in Peace. We will all miss you. You have left behind a large number of friends and colleagues who greatly respected you. You will be remembered with great fondness.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , .

An intense discourse regarding Gender diversity on Company Boards Love & respect that is truly overwhelming

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Owaeis N  |  June 27, 2011 at 12:54 am

    May Allah bless him with all the blessings of the second world.

    Reply
  • 2. Muhammad Ashraf Ahmad  |  June 27, 2011 at 1:54 am

    We lost a great person, I can see his smiling face. Allah Janatul Firdous Naseeb farmain aur darjat buland farmain. Ameen. All are requested to recite Surah Fateh for our friend, may his soul rest in peace.

    Reply
  • 3. Webscopia  |  June 27, 2011 at 3:05 am

    He was a great man. My mentor in the early years. He will be sorely missed. A great loss indeed.

    Reply
  • 4. A tribute to Ahmed Allaudin | Tea Break  |  June 28, 2011 at 6:18 am

    […] A tribute to Ahmed Allaudin […]

    Reply
  • 5. Abdul Majid Niazi  |  June 29, 2011 at 2:19 am

    I never seen anyone in my career alike Ahmed Allaudin.He was a gentle and very kind person.we will always remember him in our memories…………May Allah bless him…May Allah bless him..miss u alot

    Reply
  • 6. Techweber  |  July 2, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    Ahmed Allaudin was a very very nice and humble person our country may every see.

    Reply
  • 7. SYED MAZHAR HUSAIN  |  July 6, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    A man with qualities.We all will miss him always and I will be most as my relationship with him was very close as a brother and more close was that I am the eldest son in law of the family and the respect and love I use to get from him was more than my expectation though he was elder brother of my wife and 4 years younger than me but never ever felt any differences..What a GREAT MAN cant believe he is no more with us.Such a man has his place in Jannat-e-Firdaus the moment he closes his eyes from this world.

    Reply
  • 8. Hammad Siddiqui  |  July 8, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    He was a great human being.

    Reply
  • 9. Ansar  |  July 14, 2011 at 11:31 am

    A very pleasant personality indeed!

    Reply
  • 10. Junaid Siddiqui  |  July 27, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    Mr. Ahmed Allaudin was a true gentleman. He was a very formal kind of personality but very decent. During my working period in NIFT I never found him talking loudly or anything negative about his personality he was a really nice person. May Allah rest his soul in Jannat Ul Firdous & may forgive all of his Gunah-e-Kabeera and Sagheera.

    Reply
  • 11. Ashfaque  |  February 7, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    Allah Jinat Naseeb Karay. We lost great man.

    Reply
  • 12. Irfan Hyder  |  May 26, 2013 at 8:26 pm

    Ah! A wonderful man. I remember meeting him once in the early morning on sea view jogging. This smart man with so much energy and gone so soon. My association with him started in 1997. I was member of the organizing committee of a conference being organized by CSP. Later during 2020 initiative of Ahsan Iqbal in the planning commission, and then IT policy formulation of 2000. About four years ago I did a case study on him that I need to publish.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


