Love & respect that is truly overwhelming

July 17, 2011 at 3:35 pm 6 comments

I recently received a message in my Facebook InBox from a young woman in Islamabad who has been trying to connect with me for a while; something or the other always happens to prevent that meeting from happening hence she believes that the universe conspires to keep us apart. The message she sent was so affectionate, complimentary and yet sincere that I asked her if I could share it on my blog without mentioning her name. She said I could so I am posting it here.

QUOTE

The Universe doesn’t intend for me to meet you.

So, I’ll just have to let you know here how I feel about you. I love you – I think you are incredible and have a beautiful, fun spirit that is SO rare. I have absolutely no agenda in meeting you except to perhaps have a little bit of your awesomeness rub off on me :) I know if I ever met you I’ll just sit there like an idiot and not know what to say and maybe I should give up any plans of ever meeting you – but creepy as I may sound I am a HUGE fan. Your strength and energy and inherent goodness inspires me and at the cost of appearing like a complete fool, I’ll say it again … I LOVE YOU SO MUCH and I keep you in my prayers.

Keep doing the wonderful things that you do – you give women like me HOPE.

UNQUOTE

What does this message do other than give my ego a boost? Well, I think more than anything it shows us that we have a great responsibility toward the young people that we interact with. Today this young woman thinks I am the bees-knees. Tomorrow a small slip-up from me could shatter her faith in the human race. So it is up to me – and to all of us who are mentors and leaders in our own space – to make sure that we don’t say or do anything, nor behave in any way, that could result in young people in our community feeling disillusioned, in young people feeling let down. That is a primary responsibility that we must bear and live up to.

This young woman is a great example of someone who believes in the goodness of people around her.  I would never want her to lose that. I meet a lot of young people in the course of my job. Many of them have great expectations from all of us. I know we are not always able to do what they want of us but the least we can do is retain their faith and their trust – show them that there are people whom they can believe in, people who have values and who they can rely on.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

A tribute to Ahmed Allaudin Ever heard of halal chocolates?

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Love & respect that is truly overwhelming | Tea Break  |  July 17, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    […] Love & respect that is truly overwhelming […]

    Reply
  • 2. SYED MAZHAR HUSAIN  |  July 17, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    Nice piece of words.Lets all try to contribute something to the nation.

    Reply
  • 3. autismpakistan  |  July 17, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    watch out Jehan, there is a thin line between fans and stalkers. I tend to keep both at a distance, can be too careful these days, the world is going crazier.

    Reply
  • 4. Shamyl  |  July 17, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    I’ve been a big fan of you since my undergrad days! you are one of those (among others like Dr Ata ur Rahman) that have inspired me throughout my not so long career and continue to do so!
    Thank you for doing great things and may you always succeed InshAllah

    Reply
  • 5. Waqas Ali  |  July 18, 2011 at 12:55 am

    Thumbs up for the lady who write this genuine piece to you.

    And you know, you anyone could neglect it by HAPPYING over it and telling friends about being so cool and inspiring. Instead you sensed the responsibility and value of the trust which many young people have in you. I’m pretty sure you can help give few more Jehan Aras to Pakistan who’ll continue the work.😉

    Two year back, I wrote the same kind of piece to someone and he didn’t reply, may be because of busy schedule or any other reason. But I waited for a week of his reply, which could help me take better courses at my college.

    Now I hope never to neglect such emails, which we usually get from people who read our blog or get to know our work. I’m happy that you’re leading by example. Go on Jehan!

    Reply
  • 6. From a Father  |  July 22, 2011 at 10:09 am

    May Allah give us strength , guidance and courage for following:

    “So it is up to me – and to all of us who are mentors and leaders in our own space – to make sure that we don’t say or do anything, nor behave in any way, that could result in young people in our community feeling disillusioned, in young people feeling let down. That is a primary responsibility that we must bear and live up to”

    Excellent piece of writing and food for thought.

    Many Many Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


