Strategy to avoid jinxing my New Year resolutions

January 5, 2012 at 12:36 pm 4 comments

New Year resolutions have never been quite my thing and every year as friends and colleagues have put together their resolutions, I have had my “bah” “humbug” moments – telling them there’s no point in making resolutions that they had no intention of keeping. This year too just before the clock struck midnight heralding the onset of a brand new year, I wondered about the many people who would be wasting their time making resolutions only to break them the very next day.

Then something occurred to me. What if I made resolutions the week after New Year’s? Maybe they wouldn’t be jinxed and there would be a better chance of living up to them. Why make them at all you might ask? There is a loony rationale to it actually. When you focus on what you need to do to improve your personal and work life, your relationships, the way you function as a human being, you actually take the time to stop and think, to highlight in your mind your priorities and ways to better lead your own life and impact the lives of those around you.

So I relaxed on my beanbag, closed my eyes and thought of things I would like to change. Here is a list of 10 resolutions that I came up with.

1. Try and be more patient – God do I need this!

Take a deep breath before reacting in annoyance to anything that happens. There are any number of times one reacts in anger to something someone may have said or done. Regrets are of no use later so might as well ponder before reacting.

2. Focus on a few things, make them happen first and then embark on other activities

Passion and excitement are great but they often lead to total chaos if one is not careful. Balance is important, and the ability to recognize how much one can execute during a given time frame.

3. Get back to blogging more regularly

I enjoy writing/blogging so much but of late I have let life get the better of me – and have neglected my blog. That is just not on. I need to get back to regular blogging. It is one of the things that has kept me sane over the years (yes yes it may be hard to believe but I am quite sane :))

4. Take a day off every week

The rollercoaster ride I have been on 24×7 for the past few years has turned me into a workaholic and is beginning to take its toll. Need to take at least a day off every week to unwind, laze, just chill!

5. Save Energy

No no not mine! Energy as in power. Make sure all switches in the house are off when they are not in use, that all lights, fans, ACs in the office are off when the team heads out for lunch or when i go out for meetings. Emphasize on household and office teams of the importance of saving energy.

6. Eat more sensibly

This doesn’t mean I am going on a diet. It only means that I will eat oily or deep fried foods, sweets, etc less often. Concentrate on lunches which comprise of soup and/salads and the day I have a heavier lunch, have the soup/salad for dinner. So eating healthier as often as I can without depriving myself of food I enjoy.

7. Start some sort of regular light exercise

This is to keep the body from rusting and getting squeaky. Needs to keep functioning if I am to do all the things I want to.

8. Start a P@SHA show online

Have been thinking about this for so long. About time I stopped procrastinating and actually did it! This is the year!🙂

9. Document … document … document!

Ensure all initiatives are documented and shared. Blowing your own trumpet (in so far as the organization you work for is concerned) is actually a good thing and is in fact essential good practice.

10. Plod on! Ignore the negativity!

Don’t let the insensitivity and negativity of a few individuals weigh you down. Best to focus on the positive, do what needs to be done and march on.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , , , .

Interested in applying for the PSEB Incubator Program? Talk about wastage!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erum  |  January 5, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    Very Interesting & Practical!

    Reply
  • 2. zakintosh  |  January 5, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    #4 is the best bet to start with … and the place is to be at your Bhayya’s house, listening to music, watching a movie, and much more …

    Reply
  • […] Strategy to avoid jinxing my New Year resolutions […]

    Reply
  • 4. Arsalaan Haleem  |  January 22, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    The best resolution is No.10! That is what I firmly believe in. Just do and continue to do what you believe is right for you and your business.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


