Dreams in the making …

September 14, 2015 at 7:45 am 5 comments


The Nest i-o logo cropped“You have no idea what this place has done for me Jehan,” said Amar, a young man who was part of The Nest i/o First cohort. “I used to be a very sad and lonely person. This place has brought me back to life, has reminded me what happiness is, introduced me to people who have become friends, comrades – almoThe birds with Knavixst family.” I looked directly into his eyes as he shared this, and it dawned on me that there were stories at The Nest i/o that were still waiting to emerge – stories not just of entrepreneurial success but of people who had rediscovered themselves, rebuilt their lives and started their journeys anew.

In a status message on Facebook today, Amar wrote the following: 

When I decided to be an entrepreneur and launch my tech startup. I could have never imagined that I would discover myself again and in the process meet some inspirational people that would guide me all the way.

Thank you The Nest I/O for the opportunity …

A special thanks to Jehan  for helping me find my soul again. I can write, sing and smile after 10 whole years, all thanks to you. Wow! That is huge! Thank you Amar – all we did was open up our hearts and allow you to become what you already are. 

Group graduation shot cropped

What Amar said reminded me of another young man who had, in one of our heart-to-heart sessions a month or so earlier, told me that he had lost confidence in himself and faith in the integrity of human beings and in relationships, due to past experiences. “Being at The Nest has given me a new lease on life,” he said.

jehan with weddingplanit team in rickshawTwo things happened as I listened to these amazing young men who have come so far and proven so much in the short space of four months. On the one hand, I felt shattered at the things that they had endured so early on in their lives. There was a seething anger within me targeted at the people who had caused the pain and disillusionment.

On the other hand, I felt overwhelmed at the responsibility that we carry on our shoulders as these young people walk through the doors of our technology incubator with hopes and dreams that they think we will enable them to fulfill. They look to us for much more than just guidance and mentorship  – and we better be able to deliver!

JAF talking to the team at the entranceWhen we first started discussing the concept of the haven we wanted to create, we knew it would be an oasis for entrepreneurs. We knew we would put heart and soul into it because none of us were looking at this as an initiative. It was the culmination of a dream that many of us had had and we were going to make sure that it was the beginning of something phenomenal.

The past months have been a roller coaster ride of emotions, of passion, of energy and excitement, of sharing dreams and being involved in helping turn some of those dreams into businesses that will have enormous impact.

Shahjahan talking about Customer DevWhat I have learnt over the past months and years is that when you put your heart into something that you believe in, you tend to attract a lot of wonderful people. From the day we announced that we were starting The Nest i/o, the phones haven’t stopped ringing, the volunteerism hasn’t stopped, the offers of assistance just continue to grow. I have always been an optimist, a believer in the intrinsic goodness of people and each day proves to me that I wasn’t wrong in my assumptions. The people who come to The Nest i/o to help and guide, to inspire and motivate, to just listen and provide direction when and where they can, do so because it makes them feel good, it re-energizes them, it brings out the dreamers in them. They are the ones who are helping us build an eco-system that will enable many young aspiring entrepreneurs to imran on big dataturn their dreams into reality. I am just along for the ride.

This will be the first of many blog posts on The Nest i/o – of people, of experiences – stories that will inspire a new generation of entrepreneurs who will embark on their journeys to change the world. Embark on this journey with us.

 

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Coming home … So much to be thankful for …

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fawzia  |  September 14, 2015 at 8:06 am

    You and everyone involved are making history for Pakistan but more importantly making life long connections. Thank you!

    Reply
  • 2. Irfan Ahmad  |  September 14, 2015 at 11:28 am

    Good work Jehan! We are all proud of what you are doing.

    I am currently in Boston at MassChallenge – the world’s largest accelerator program – where Irhal is one of 128 startups. It is a program that not many people are aware of. It can help open doors for Pakistani startups. I strongly recommend that those who have some traction should apply – MassChallenge.org

    I will be in Karachi for Eid from Sept 21-26 – if startups of The Nest i/o are interested I can give a talk on Sept 21/or 22/or 23 about my experience so far (the program I am in started on June 22 and ends on Oct 29 2015).

    Reply
  • 3. Jehan  |  September 14, 2015 at 12:12 pm

    Thanks Irfan. MassChallenge sounds amazing. Come and do a session on September 21 at The Nest i/o. Let us move this conversation to an email thread.🙂

    Reply
  • 4. maheen shaikh  |  September 17, 2015 at 12:22 am

    I’m your great fan jehan I want to meet you I’m from Hyderabad Pakistan done bachelor software engineering want some guide line to start my career I just want to say you people doing amazing job all over in Pakistan keep it up !🙂

    Reply
  • 5. ramblerz  |  September 21, 2015 at 4:28 pm

    Love what you and the team are doing at Nest I/O Jehan. May this be the start of many success stories to come (amen).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


