Surprise … Surprise!!!

November 14, 2015 at 8:03 am 3 comments

Yesterday started off like any other … and I wasn’t really expecting much from it. The last few days had been tough – lots of things to ponder on; decisions to make; some disappointments and disillusionments which made me question some basic things I have always believed in.

Although I try not to let negative thoughts affect the way I interact with people during the day, there are times when my face and my status messages give me away. Suffice it to say that I haven’t been myself lately.

12238341_908376319211558_4659642227539948424_oAs I was driving to work, multiple thoughts going through my mind, I received a call from Naeem – our Office Assistant – asking when I would reach the office. I asked why and when he told me he had forgotten his keys at home, I must admit to being quite irritated. I hate it if the P@SHA office and The Nest i/o are not open on time. I hate it even more if people have to wait outside. I am usually there before 8.30 but yesterday I was running 15 minutes late because I had had a bad night.

I put my foot on the accelerator and mumbled to myself about young people’s memories – imagine forgetting your keys at home when you are supposed to open up the offices in the morning. When I got to the carpark, I saw Naeem sitting on his bike waiting for me. All the way up to the 3rd floor I lectured him – poor chap.

When I opened up t12232770_908377019211488_1829682560830410583_ohe glass door and found that the alarm didn’t go off and the airconditioners in the outer office were on, I was a little confused. Waste of energy, alarm needing to be checked out were thoughts going through my mind.

So you can imagine how absolutely surprised I was when I started to open up the shutter and balloons started to creep out from under it. That was the first inkling I had of something being up. It was dark inside but I began to see legs – a lot of legs. Suddenly the crackers went off and the lights were turned on and a whole lot of voices shouted out “Surprise”!🙂

Amidst all the noise and all these people each handing me a flower, and someone putting a red hat on my head, all I could come up with was “It is not my birthday!” which it wasn’t. My birthday falls on the 18th but I am going to be out of the country on that day so they had decided that they would surprise me with this bash.

12247957_908378095878047_4643552824532381478_o

I was blown away! As each one gave me a flower (I love flowers), I noticed that everyone was there – even people like Taaha Bin Khalid – CEO of Whisper O – who can never get up in the morning. I believe he was the Chief decorator. Startup founders from The Nest i/o batch 1 and 2 were all there. My team was all there. Jawwad Ahmed Farid – was there with his camera clicking away. All these people who never ever made it to work on time throughout their incubation, had been there since 7 a.m. putting together this surprise for me. If I hadn’t focused on the flowers and the balloons and their excitement at having surprised me, I would have burst into tears. It is the single most thoughtful thing anyone has ever done and if I didn’t love them all so much already, I would fall in love with all of them all over again. Guys and girls you’re all so very special and your love and respect means everything to me. If you had remembered to ask me to make a speech, I would never have been able to do it without breaking down so it is just as well you didn’t ask. 12240194_908378662544657_3987458758978139543_o

Then came the cake and the singing and the laughter … and the questions “Were you really surprised? Did you suspect what we were up to?” How could I possibly have suspected.

Lots of pictures and hugs and smiles followed and the Facebook timeline and Twitter feed were full of visuals of what they had accomplished together. Hey guys do you realize that this was the first ever collaboration between Batch 1 and Batch 2? Haha … that makes me so happy!12239679_10206396757211052_7942056402636315862_nThe day was not over. There were surprise gifts and cards – a cap that Riaz Ahmed’s sister Mariam made, a plethora of things from my team which for some reason also contained an ashtray (beautiful but totally inappropriate on my desk since I abhor smoking!).

As I looked at the decorations I couldn’t wipe the smile from my face for most of the day. The heart made from balloons looked great and several pictures had to be taken in front of that natch.

The Chinese delegationThrough the day things kept happening. Celebrations had to be stopped several times as we had a potential investor come in to meet with teams; as Jawwad conducted APICTA training; as P@SHA had a visit from a Chinese delegation who absolutely loved the atmosphere and went away feeling that the IT sector in Pakistan was vibrant and had a lot of potential – that these young people were the future of this country.

IMG_0566We also had visits from Sajjad Kirmani who brought a blueberry cheese cake and mentored many of the teams. Dr. Umar Saif and Nabeel Qadeer dropped in for a chat and an update. The teams who were still around were honored to meet Umar and get his feedback. All this amidst a great deal of activity surrounding the upcoming APICTA delegation, phone calls, emails, visits from people like Atif Azim who intended to be part of the surprise but was just slightly late – thanks Atif. It meant a great deal.

Knavix selling maps to Umar SaifOh … and if you think this was the end of it … after lunch I was presented with a bottle. This bottle contains 365 multiple messages on post-its from all the startup founders and the team. I am supposed to read one every morning until my next birthday. Yeah … as if that is going to happen! I am the kind of person who doesn’t even wait to slowly open a gift so the wrapping paper can be re-used! I read about 10 of the messages yesterday. They let me because we are going to be away in Sri Lanka next week.

12243154_10153151257305759_55084929842353882_nIf you were to ask me what was the best thing about yesterday, I would tell you it was the fact that all of these youngsters had been there since 7 just to bring a smile to my face … and this bottle full of messages that is bound to make me laugh throughout the next month (no it’s not going to last a year!).

This could have been a super-emotional post but I have tried to not go there. All I can say is I feel blessed to have all these new people in my life. They are thoughtful and loving and caring … and they are going to change the world. Those of us who adore them are going to sit back and take pleasure in the fact that we knew them when they were first starting out. I love you guys and girls. Please always stay this way. Don’t let the world around you change you too much. Change the world instead!

JA's gleeful smile

 

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

There are times when I wish I had lots of money Happy birthday to the best father in the world

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fariha Akhtar Mangi  |  November 14, 2015 at 10:20 pm

    You deserve all this and a lot more❤ MashAllah.

    Reply
  • 2. beenasarwar  |  November 30, 2015 at 6:39 pm

    Wonderful post, wonderful people. What a thoughtful thing to do – especially since so many participated. A wonderful display of teamwork, leadership, creativity, and the human spirit of altruism and being considerate. This uplifting experience says as much about your team as about you, and it’s all good. Happy birthday. Shine on. You make us proud, all of you.

    Reply
  • 3. Riaz  |  December 5, 2015 at 12:30 pm

    Great Surprise !!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts

Twitter Updates


