Guest Post by Shoaib Taimur: You can’t hurt me no more!

November 30, 2011 at 6:20 pm Leave a comment

You don’t own me, you can’t play with me
I am not one of your many possessions

Treat me with respect
Dont make me the subject of your abuse
Will beating me up produce you a male heir?
Does your ego get crushed each time I answer you back?
Did it make a big difference to your manhood?

Oh mother father why did you make  me promise never to leave my marital home
Why should I be humiliated by this man every day?
Why does society frown upon women who leave their husbands?
I long to leave and go back to my parents
Alas they will not accept me and I will have to go back
These scars will heal but what about the ones in my heart?
I suffer everyday along with the rest of my sisters on mother earth
Leaving my husband will only lead to dishonor

Stop this Violence, Stop This Hate
Stop this Violence, Stop This Hate

You may have married me but you don’t own me
You may have your rights but you owe me my rights
I will not let you ruin my life any further
This is the end of the line for you
This is the end of the line for me
No more
No more

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: , , , , , .

GUEST POST: Portrait of Dishonour by Farieha Aziz White Ribbon Pakistan launches Pledge Campaign to end VAW

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Past Posts